While visiting North Bay, you may want to consider a walk in the vibrant downtown community which is nestled along the waterfront. Following this tour will ensure you don't miss anything along the way.
Starting Point: Corner McIntyre and Fraser Street
The Empire Retirement Living Centre was formally known as the Empire Hotel. Accented with authentic Italian architecture, the hotel was once graced by Queen Elizabeth II, during her stay in 1951. The hotel also hosted the infamous James Cagney in 1941 while he filmed Captains of the Clouds right here in North Bay.
Turn right onto First Avenue
The Ministry of Community Safety & Correctional Services is on the left which in part occupies the historic former “North Bay Normal School”. The Normal School first opened its doors in 1909 to 25 students and was one of several identical structures built in Ontario. Originally established to increase the number of educated teachers in the province, North Bay has embraced a tradition of teacher education that has spanned over 100 years - From the North Bay Normal School, to the Teachers College, to the nationally recognized Nipissing University.
In the 1990’s, the Ministry of Community Safety & Correctional Services expanded the space by surrounding three sides of the original building and keeping the historical integrity of the Normal School in tact. The atrium of the building exposes the exterior wall of the original building and has incorporated pedestrian bridges to connect new offices with the old.
Next to the Ministry of Community Safety & Correctional Services.
Next to the Ministry of Corrections is the Royal Canadian Legion Branch #23. The beautiful Cenotaph on this property was unveiled in 1922 in honour of the men and women who fought in World War I. At the time it was built, it was the largest bronze statue in our country and was sculpted by C.D. McKenzie of Toronto with local contractor Andrew Craig. By 1923 the land was dubbed Memorial Park with the addition of the North Bay and Area Wall of Honour which is the largest municipal memorial in Canada and displays the names of the men and women who lost their lives in World War II, the Korean War and several other military undertakings.
Right onto Wyld Street – Right onto Main Street
North Bay’s Capitol Centre was constructed in 1928 and serves as North Bay’s hub for the arts. As North Bay’s original Famous Players and Vaudeville Theatre, the centre has been the venue for many of the City’s cultural and entertainment events. Restored and renovated in 1986, the theatre is now home to the W.K.P. Kennedy Gallery which has earned acclaimed reviews in showcasing the city’s artists.